Progress for the sake of progress must be discouraged

Standard

Umbridge  So this weekend I am up visiting my mother in Ohio for a very quick, long weekend visit.  While here, I realized my mother has a scale in her bathroom.  In my house, we have no scales.  At the gym, I stay off of the scales.  However, while here, and passing the scale every time I use the restroom, I found it was too much to avoid stepping onto the small flat square next to the bathroom sink.

Turns out, I have lost 7 pounds in the last couple of weeks.  I was ecstatic!  Then I started this back and forth argument in my head about whether or not I have lost a good amount of weight, or if I have not made good enough progress.

This is why I do not own a scale.  While for some, the concept of losing weight is their main goal, that is not mine.  I can honestly say that if I don’t lose a pound, but I can finally jog an entire 5K, I will be so happy.  But doing all of this hard work just to be able to say I lost a few pounds is dangerous for me.  Why?  Because I know how to lose weight.  Not eating is really the easiest way, but I’m not looking for easy.  I looking for healthy and sustainable.

Now, don’t get me wrong.  Having a scale works very well for some people.  There is a reason that the Weight Watchers program is so successful.  Seeing that number change every week when you show up for your weekly meeting can be great, but it can also be extremely discouraging when you go to weigh yourself and see that the number on the scale has either not changed at all, or has even increased.  The weeks that I did not lose what I considered to be enough weight, I spent the next week in shame of my weight.  I became defined by the number that would display on an inanimate object.

I refuse to continue this trend.  Below I have linked to a great article about what is more important, being skinny or being fit.  My goal is to continue to build up the strength of my heart and lungs.  I want to complete a 5K saying that I jogged the whole thing.  If I happen to still weigh the same amount when that occurs, I’m okay with that.  The number on the scale can not, and will not, define me or my progress.  I will not have progress simply for the sake of having it.  I will work hard to strengthen myself and my body, if weight loss come with that…great.  If it doesn’t, then I really haven’t failed anyhow. 

http://www.weightwatchers.com/index.aspx

http://lifelongfitness.net/fit-vs-fat-an-expert-opinion/

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

